Little Victories, Week Nine

For 2013, I’m going to have a Friday post every single week, for positive victories in my life.  They may not be big things, but they will be things that I am proud of, things I did in the past seven days.  I’m hoping this will keep me focused on the positive, all the good things that are going on in my life.

It is crazy to realize that we are already into March.  That the year is already almost a third of the way over.  Unbelievable.  It’s been a pretty quiet week over here at Honestly, Megan, so let’s get to it.

– This isn’t really my victory, I guess, but D managed to tell MIL that we’re getting a divorce, and that was a pretty big deal.  She’s still talking to me and still wants to see me.  I’m letting things sort of cool down before I approach her about meeting up.

– Had a really good session with DS on Monday, which helped both of us kind of get our bearings about this whole divorce thing.  Even though some of our friends and family members think that “divorce counseling” (if you can call it that) is a waste of time and money, honestly, I wouldn’t have it any other way.  We are doing this in about as amicably a way as possible, and if paying $25 and spending 1 hour a month helps that along, I’ll take it.

– Broke my “senioritis” (or “divorcitis” as Crazy Bruce calls it) on Wednesday and challenged myself to two hours of note-taking and research per day, so 10 hours a week.  I spent three days (about five hours) on Belle Boyd in Camp and Prison, the memoirs of a teenage Southern belle turned spy for the Confederacy.  Pretty good, but I think she embellished a little bit…I’m now reading A Belle of the Fifties about Virginia Clay, the wife of a senator during the Civil War.  It’s pretty good thus far, though I’m not finding much to add to my thesis.

– Reconnected with my friend Lyndsey this week and went to her place last night to watch “The Tudors.”  And I am so happy to say that, four episodes in, she is hooked.  We’re going to get together again in subsequent weeks to watch more episodes.  I can’t wait.

And I got to snuggle with this little guy: Oy, her dachshund.

Items added to my 2013 jar: None so far.

Everyone have a great weekend!  I’m sure I’m going to be spending most of it studying, cleaning, and writing!

Leave a Reply

