A quick succession of busy nothings

I fully expected to feel run-down, exhausted, unhappy today, and in reality, I feel better than I have all week.  I don’t much want to talk about the filing process, but I’m very, very glad that I did it and that I can stop dreading it now.  Everything’s started, there’s no going back.  Well, there could be, considering that Connecticut has a mandatory 90-day waiting period for divorces, but I don’t foresee it happening at all.  And it’s funny, how many people said “I’m proud of you” once I had done it.  It’s a sad situation, it’s not a happy thing, but when so many people seem to be behind you when you do something like that, it makes you feel that much more confident that you made the right choice.

Other things are going on, which are much happier.

Samantha and I are continuing our quest to find the perfect “post-break apartment”.  Since she just broke up with her boyfriend of three years, and I just broke things off with my husband of two years, we’re in the market for the perfect two-bedroom apartment that is somewhere between work and school, isn’t in an unsafe neighborhood, and lets you have cats (Tempest and Tabitha are part of me, they go where I go).  So far, we have a couple of leads, but nothing certain.  I keep my eyes peeled every day on Craigslist.

My friend Drea became a Partylite consultant this past month and had her first party last night, hosted by my little sister.  It was a lot of fun.  In the end, Christina earned $150 worth of free merchandise (and got a lot of really nice things), Drea got some good experience and managed to push through her nerves (and did SO WELL), and I spent my first night, post-divorce filing, not questioning my decisions or feeling bad or crying.  I didn’t cry at all last night.  I drank Barefoot moscato and laughed with my friends and spent a little too much money, but I have more than enough in the bank account right now, a splurge was fun, and Christina promised to return the favor when I have my party in April.

What did I get?  More bird things.  Are you sensing a theme yet?

Bird candle holder.  This is much bigger than it looks — it actually holds a round jar candle, which is why I got it (not really big into the melts).  You can’t see it too well on the white background, but there’s a tiny little bird on the branch!

Another GloLite pillar in Apple Blossom.  I love the way the clusters of different sized pillars look, and I got a free tray from Michaels (with a GC from Christmas, since the ones from Partylite were like $20 and I got that one for $4).

Package of Universal Tealights in Calm Waters.

Natural Rituals Aromatherapy Soy Candle in “Calm” (same fragrance I bought last time — the lavender/rosemary).

You may ask “Why the hell do you need so many candles?”  Well, TBH, my apartment is tiny, not ventilated well, and musty as hell.  Plus, I’d really like to see my friend Drea make a success of her business.  She’s doing something for herself, and that makes me happy.

This Sunday is my sister’s annual Oscar shindig, which I am also looking forward to…tons of food, the Oscars, red carpet-snarkiness…what’s there not to look forward to?

Tonight is my last night of school for the week.  I have a ton of research to do this weekend, as well as cleaning out my old car…oh, did I mention?  I got a new (to me) car this week!  It’s a 2005 Honda Accord with about 100,000 miles on it, dark forest green, leather seats, seatwarmers…love!  I’ll post a picture tomorrow.

And tomorrow is Friday.  The return of Little Victories”, and a little more sanity to my life.

Leave a Reply

