The Best-Laid Plans And All That Jazz

Some facts:

Days left until Christmas: 15
Days left until 501 paper is due: 8
Days left until 540 paper is due: 2Amount left to do on 501 paper: Revisions (28/25 pages completed)
Amount left to do on 540 paper: Revisions and conclusion (16/20 pages completed)
Knitting projects left to complete: 4

Well…shit.

I can do this, I can do this, I can do this.

It was an extremely emotional and difficult weekend…it’s sad that lately my weekends have been more difficult than my weekdays, mainly because there is so much time to think.  D and I split our bank accounts on Saturday (at last) which is great because I could finally deposit all of my checks that had been piling up (all business, not personal) and start Christmas shopping.  I did a TON of Christmas shopping this weekend (I am nearly done, except with my shopping for friends), and it was mostly online, so I’m waiting for two packages to come in.  Splitting our bank accounts wasn’t as emotionally-draining as the episode with the cat (mentioned in my last entry) and fighting with my parents for most of the weekend.  I also bit the bullet and wrote an email to my MIL, informing her that I can’t come to Christmas this year, and was relieved when she replied with a very thoughtful, sensitive reply.  That’s a huge weight off of my shoulders.  And I got to watch the Saints/Giants game last night…which didn’t end the way I was hoping but oh well.

The good news is that I have two evenings “off” from now until Wednesday (when the 540 paper is due) to write and revise.  The bad news is that I appear to be missing one of the books I need, the one that the professor advised me to use.  I’ve already torn apart D’s apartment looking for it.  So it is…probably somewhere in my car.  I will look there this afternoon when I am out of work.  This afternoon is going to be spent writing and revising.  With any luck I’ll be done with the paper by tonight.  Tomorrow I need to work on whatever I’m bringing to the class potluck finals party on Wednesday night.

Suffice to say, it’s going to be a busy week.  I have something on tap every single day.  At least after Wednesday, the rest of the week is shaping up awesomely:

Thursday: Knit Night!
Friday: Seeing The Hobbit (if we can get advance tickets)
Saturday: My friend J’s party up in Worcester, MA.
Sunday: Helping my parents decorate their Christmas tree.

Just get through the paper…and it’ll all be okay.

One thought on “The Best-Laid Plans And All That Jazz

  1. Good luck! You are going to kick ass on that paper!!
    It sounds like you have a really great weekend lined up too. Congrats on getting some of your shopping done. It sounds like you are WAY ahead of me.

Leave a Reply

