Living (Not So) Single

In celebration of my last class session of the Fall ’12 semester (although I still have two papers and one “class” — potluck dinner — at my teacher’s house), I decided to make a real meal for dinner last night.  It probably comes as no surprise to anyone that I had sort of given up on cooking real food for myself when D and I separated.  It’s difficult to cook a meal for yourself when you live alone.  Most recipes are geared towards lots of people and multiple servings.  I also come home late most nights of the week (between 7:30 and 8:00 PM) so it’s difficult to get up the desire to actually cook a “real” meal.

But last night, class got out at 6:20 PM, and I was home by 7:00 PM, with a bag of chicken breasts (really big, plump, I-can-get-four-pieces-out-of-each-of-these chicken breasts) and I decided to go to work.

I breaded each of the breasts with an egg wash and a mix of breadcrumbs and parmasan cheese, and baked it in the oven at $250 for about 20 minutes (10 on each side).  It came out a little dry, so I won’t be doing that again.  I also sauteed some carrots in butter and garlic (OMG DELICIOUS) and for my starch?  Well.  Frozen pierogis boiled in water.  I haven’t been keeping potatoes in the house because they’ll go bad too quickly.  Plus I’ve been cutting down on my starches.  Or at least trying to.

First adult meal in the new place?  Success.

 

This weekend is going to be weird…D and I are finally splitting our finances on Saturday.  We have a joint bank account, so of course it seems logical to split that and split the money.  We met on Tuesday afternoon to write it out on paper, and came to a very quick and amicable decision as to who gets what.  It’s definitely a surreal experience.  I think back to how much time and attention planning the wedding took, and this is…just so fast and heartless, I guess.  I keep getting twinges of sadness, but at the same time, it will be a relief to have my bank account in my sole possession again, after Saturday.  Plus I can really bunk down and finish my Christmas shopping!

And Christmas knitting.  Which is what Knit Night is for!

One thought on “Living (Not So) Single

  1. That chicken sounds good- made me hungry! I barely have a desire to cook for my family lately let alone if it was just me or even just me and the kids.

Leave a Reply

