Bing Bang Bong (Another Post About Grad School)

Two pieces of awesomeness happened within the last 24 hours and I’m sharing them here.

1) I got an A- on my paper draft for 501.  For those of you playing the home game, 501 is the only “required” course in the CCSU history grad program (besides thesis/capstone, of course), and to pass and be considered a matriculated student you must pass it with better than a “B”.  An A- on the draft means that, as of right now, if I hand in this paper as-is, I already have this course in the bag.  IN THE BAG.  I was ready to dance in the streets last night, sing it from the mountaintop.  I am going to nail this course!  YES!

Of course, I am not going to hand it in as-is.  I want it to be an A, not an A-.  Going for a 4.0 GPA this semester!  OMG, can you imagine?  My goal was always to boost my GPA up that final .14 that it needs to be in order to take thesis in the fall, which would require a GPA of 3.75, but why not go for the perfect 4.0?  I will try not to be too disappointed if I don’t achieve it, but at the same time…I think it might actually be possible!

2) I received notification today that my independent study has been approved by the Graduate Studies Office and is on my registration!  This is the first official step towards my thesis.  Even though I knew that it was approved by my adviser and the Head of the History Department…it’s amazing to see it in print.  It’s finally happening.  Writing my thesis and graduation…it’s not just a “someday” goal.  It has a discernible end time.  It’s going to happen!

Sorry.  I’m a little over-exuberant.  But considering that I first embarked on this goal to get my M.A. in 2007 and here it is five years later…can you blame me?  For so long I wondered if it was even really going to happen…and now I know that it is!

It’s been a very long, uphill road…and I’m not there yet.  But I’m getting there.  And that’s what’s important.

Leave a Reply

