In Which Planning Ahead Paid Off in Spades, and I Fulfill a Lifelong Dream

Two weeks ago, I legit thought I was completely insane for booking myself to hand in two early drafts, one for each class.  It kept me chained to my computer, to Zotero and to my research for two straight weeks.  It was agony.  It was excruciating.  Plus I had to follow that up with a presentation for one class (which was last night; more on that later), so that included constructing a PowerPoint presentation.

But now those two weeks are over, and guys…I have nothing to do for class.  Seriously.  I don’t have class next week.  I have a half-hour meeting with one teacher to go over my draft, but I seriously don’t have anything due until December.  December.  It’s amazing.

A lot of people want to put off getting their stuff in until the last minute, so they have more time research, write, polish (procrastinate).  I used to be one of them (especially on the procrastination point).  But not anymore!  Seriously, knowing that I can go through Thanksgiving week and ENJOY myself, and not have to freak out about writing or tweaking or researching…it’s great.

 

As for my presentation.  Guys.  Lifelong dream realized last night.

I got to teach a lecture on Tudor England.

And it seriously was everything I dreamed it would be.  I was into it, I knew what I was talking about, I was talking about what I LOVE.  It was epic.

Except for the part where I stumbled over some Latin.

But then again, nobody’s perfect.

Leave a Reply

