Why I wear purple

When I already got to work yesterday (too late to make a fashion choice), I saw online that a lot of people were talking about wearing blue or red in solidarity with their political party of choice.  (For those of you who don’t live in the United States, blue is the Democratic or Liberal color, and red is the shade representative of the Republican, or Conservative, party.

The election went relatively in the way I had hoped.  Although I am, now and forever, a moderate, I did vote for Obama (after considering, briefly, voting for Johnson), and though I don’t agree with all of his policies, I am happy that he won the re-election.  I do proceed with a lot more caution this time.  This country can’t succeed if we are divided, if one party continuously stonewalls another.

And that is why I chose to wear purple today.

Purple shirt, purple scarf (with some blue and pink in it).  I chose to wear OPI’s Russian Navy shade on my fingers — which appears blue, until you take a closer look and see that there are sparkly flecks of red in there as well.

That’s my solidarity.  Moderation in everything.  Independent forever.

Leave a Reply

